Race Report : 2019 Burnley Lions 10k


(Fourth race of the Pendle and Burnley Grand Prix)

237 runners in the 34th Lions race on Friday evening, 24th May, enjoyed dry but slightly breezy weather, which brought a creditable first place time of 32 mins 35 secs from Ben Fish of Blackburn Harriers, 50 seconds faster than Thomas Corrigan, who finished in 33mins 25 secs, 20 seconds faster than when he won the race in 2016. Third in the men’s race was Jacob Watson with a time of 34 mins 18 secs.

Jacqueline Collins of Barlick Fell Runners, came first in the ladies’ race for the second consecutive year in 42 mins 11 secs, followed by Catherine Derbyshire (Accrington Road Runners) in 44 mins 21 secs and Lindsay Davies (Blackburn Harriers) in 46 mins 02 secs.

The first man and woman received a month’s free gym membership, for which we thank Xercise4Less, Burnley, and a 1 litre bottle of gin.

Burnley Lions Club would also like to thank Colne cricket club for their hospitality for registration and to Park High school for continued use of their grounds for the finish; to main sponsor Furnico of Colne; and to Sainsburys, Burnley for supplying welcome bottles of water for runners at the end of the race.

Other class winners by age category were as follows:


U20 Alex Mason, Barlick Fell Runners, 36-28
V35   Jacqueline Collins, Barlick Fell Runners, 42-11
V40 Christopher Davies, Blackburn Harriers, 35-19
V45 Maurice O’Brian, Holcombe Harriers, 39-02
V50 Glen Goodwin, Accrington Road Runners, 37-51
V55 Alan Lundberg-Bury, Rossendale Harriers*, 37-28
V60 Thornton Taylor, Rossendale Harriers, 41-25
V65 Stephen Biscomb, Clayton-le-Moors Harriers, 46-42
V70 Ken Taylor, Rossendale Harriers, 48-28
V75 David Scott, Clayton-le-Moors Harriers, 1-04-34


U20 Natalie Giles, Ossy Joggers, 1-12-40
V40 Catherine Derbyshire, Barlick Fell Runners, 44-21
V45  Lindsay Davies, Blackburn Harriers, 46-02
V50 Carole Fryer, Calder Valley Fell Runners, 48-34
V55 Julie Townson, Trawden Athletics Club, 47-53
V60 Eileen Wadsworth, Rossendale Harriers,
V65 Jean Rawlinson, Barlick Fell Runners, 58-18
V70 Marie H Christian, Rossendale Harriers, 

* Alan’s time was 4 seconds better than the record held by Ted Orrell, set way back in 1995, an excellent achievement.

2019 race winners presentation.jpg

Photograph shows Lion President Frank Seed, ladies’ winner, Jacqueline Collins, Hazel Storozuk of Furnico and men’s winner, Ben Fish.

Frank Seed, Burnley Lions (race promoter)


Burnley_Lions_2019_leaders (2)

Burnley_Lions_2019_leaders (3)

Burnley_Lions_2019_leaders (4)Burnley_Lions_2019_leaders (1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s